
WHO MUST FILE A DUPLICATE CERTIFICATE? 

The officiant performing the marriage ceremony must file the Duplicate 
Certificate at the Delaware County Marriage License office within 10 days of 
the date of the ceremony. If the Duplicate Certificate is not returned, your 
file remains incomplete and a $50 fine may be assessed. 
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WHAT DO I NEED TO DO TO OBTAIN A MARRIAGE LICENSE? 

Couples can start the Marriage License application anywhere they have internet 
access at: www.delcopa.gov/row/marriage.html.  In addition to submitting the 
online application, couples must complete information forms and submit proof 
of identity. Photo identification, such as a driver’s license or passport must be 
shown. You will be required to provide your social security number.  More 
information is available on our website. 

Payment is acceptable by check or money order ($60.00). 

Both applicants must be 18 years of age or older.  

The physical office is located at the Government Center Building, which is 
connected to the Delaware County Courthouse, 201 West Front Street, Media 
PA. 19063.   

WHEN SHOULD WE APPLY FOR A LICENSE AND HOW LONG IS IT VALID? 

We recommend that you apply for your license at least three weeks prior to your 
wedding. Pennsylvania law requires a three (3) day waiting period between the 
date you apply for your license and the date you may marry. After the three-day 
waiting period, a marriage license is valid for 60 days. If the couple is not married 
within the 60-day time period, the application must be completed again in its 
entirety to obtain a new license. 

The three-day waiting period may be waived in exceptional circumstances, such 
as military service requirements. If you feel your circumstances warrant a waiver 
from the three-day period, please notify our office prior to applying for your 
license. 
 
 

WHERE CAN THE MARRIAGE LICENSE BE USED? 

A Marriage License issued in Delaware County may be used anywhere in the 
Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. 

WHAT ABOUT PRIOR MARRIAGES? 

Applicants who have been previously married and divorced must provide an 
original certified copy of the divorce decree. If the most recent marriage was 
dissolved by death, a widow or widower must provide an original or a copy of 
a death certificate when applying.  A Marriage License will not be issued if you 
do not have these items with you at the time of application. 

WHAT IF I’M NOT FLUENT IN ENGLISH? 

If one or more of the applicants does not understand English, an independent 
(third-party) interpreter can be provided at no cost to you. Please contact our 
office if you need additional information. If you were married before, you must 
present a certified document that establishes that the most recent marriage 
was dissolved by divorce. If the most recent marriage was dissolved by death, 
an original death certificate or a copy of a death certificate is needed. If these 
documents are not in English, it is necessary that they be translated along with 
a notarized affidavit of the translator. If you need assistance with a translation, 
please advise this office before you apply for your Marriage License.  

WHO MAY NOT MARRY? 

Pennsylvania law prohibits the marriage of persons related by blood up to 
and including first cousins. 


