Our Virtual Marriage Record Department is open Monday through Friday, 8:30 AM to 4:00 PM, and closed holidays. We handle marriage licenses and records. We provide virtual appointments to couples who seek a marriage license—couples can complete the entire process without having to leave their homes! We have successfully provided virtual marriage license services to hundreds of couples. Couples should begin the process of applying for a marriage license at least thirty (30) days in advance.
We will be scheduling limited in-person appointments (in addition to the virtual appointments) for couples who seek a marriage license and who have completed all online and email requirements. We are not accepting any walk-ins. Anyone who has an in-person appointment must wear a face mask covering mouth and nose (face guards will be provided for individuals with medical restrictions), arrive early in order to pass a temperature check administered by a park police officer at the door, and may not bring any additional individuals such as children to the appointment. We strongly recommend utilizing virtual appointments instead of in-person appointments because the in-person appointments are limited given the restrictions and may be canceled on short notice due to new coronavirus restrictions or a sickness reported in our office. Remember, the exact same services are available on a virtual basis more quickly and for no additional fee!
1. Getting a Marriage License: We offer virtual appointments and limited in-person appointments only.
Couples should begin this process at least thirty (30) days before their wedding date. It takes time to prepare your materials and schedule an appointment and there is a three-day waiting period mandated by statute.
We are scheduling 30-minute virtual marriage license appointments via Microsoft Teams (a free video platform) and limited in-person appointments, for Delaware County, Pennsylvania residents only AND for out-of-state and out-of-county couples who will be celebrating their special day at a Delaware County, PA venue who have documented confirmation. You will need a printer and a video camera such as a smartphone or laptop for virtual appointments. The fee for a marriage license is $60.00 and must be paid by check. Prior to your appointment, you should review the Delco ROW Marriage License Appointment Guide.
The Video Walkthrough of Scheduling Your Marriage License Appointment is available here:
We will schedule your appointment only AFTER you have BOTH completed the Marriage License Online Pre-Application Form AND emailed (1) copies of your IDs, (2) your completed Disclaimer Form, available in the Delco ROW Marriage License Appointment Guide, (3) your completed Contact Form, available in the Delco ROW Marriage License Appointment Guide, and (4) any certified divorce decrees and/or death certificates, if applicable, to Marriage@co.delaware.pa.us.
2. Getting a Marriage Record: We provide e-copies, paper certified copies, and paper exemplified copies. Requests usually take 10-14 days from receipt to process, and additional delays may be experienced due to the coronavirus emergency. For more information, navigate to Ordering Marriage Records.
2. Getting Married? Brochure (last updated May 29, 2020)
3. Information for Couples Getting Married (last updated May 29, 2020)
4. List of Magistrate District Judges (last updated March 3, 2020)
5. Marriage License Information Form (last updated July 30, 2020)