Beginning on July 6, Pennsylvania residents can apply for the CARES Act Rent or Mortgage Relief Program being offered by the Pennsylvania Housing Finance Agency.
Renters can receive up to $750 a month for up to 6 months, paid directly to their landlord. Those with mortgages are eligible for financial relief up to $1,000 a month for up to 6 months, paid directly to their mortgagee. In order to be considered eligible for these funds, renters and homeowners will need documentation that shows at least a 30% reduction in annual income since March 1, 2020. The reduction must be directly related to the COVID-19 pandemic or the individual must have become unemployed after March 1, 2020. Funds will be distributed on a first come first serve basis.
Residents can learn more and apply online: www.phfa.org
Delaware County is collaborating with Community Action Agency of Delaware County (CAADC) to process applications for rental assistance. CAADC can be reached at (610) 874-8451.
The federal Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security Act, also known as the CARES Act, was established to assist people who have been financially impacted by the COVID-19 pandemic in the United States.