Delaware County Open Space Task Force

 Home / Departments / Planning Department / Current Projects / Delaware County Open Space Task Force

The Open Space Task Force is working to identify and recommend a strategy to implement the County’s Open Space, Recreation, and Greenway Plan.

Delaware County Council convened the Open Space Task Force in October 2016 to recommend a strategy to implement the County’s Open Space, Recreation, and Greenway Plan in an effective and responsible manner. The Task Force is comprised of leaders from local municipalities, nonprofit organizations, the business community, and several County staff members. The diverse background of the Task Force members is crucial to developing a recommendation that is inclusive of all Delaware County communities.

The Task Force has reviewed the County’s Open Space, Recreation, and Greenway Plan, with particular emphasis on implementation methods and progress, and is considering the many opportunities and challenges in implementing the plan. The Task Force has reviewed programs from other counties in the region and discussed the benefits to different approaches. It is in the process of forming this research and analysis into a recommended implementation strategy to County Council. On September 12, Delaware County Council formally approved the Task Force's recommended implementation strategy.

Questions about the Delaware County Open Space Task Force? Contact the Planning Department at 610-891-5200 or

Task Force Members

Bruce Dorbian Director of Planning and Development, Marcus Hook Borough
Chair, Delaware County Coastal Zone Task Force
John McMullan Director of Leisure Services, Upper Darby Township
William Payne Chair, Delaware County Planning Commission
Jeffrey Rudolph President, Springfield Township Board of Commissioners
President, Delaware County Park Board
Jean Stoyer Vice Chair, Bethel Township Board of Supervisors

Peter Williamson Vice President, Natural Lands
Stephanie Gaboriault President, Friends of Glen Providence Park

J.P. Kelly, P.E. Principal, Kelly and Close Engineers
Member, Delaware County Park Board
Trish McFarland President, Delaware County Chamber of Commerce

Delaware County
Linda Hill Director, Delaware County Planning Department
Karen Holm Manager, Delaware County Planning Department
Ryan Judge Senior Planner, Delaware County Planning Department (former)
Marc Manfre Director, Delaware County Parks and Recreation Department

Contact Us

About Delaware County

Delaware County, presently consisting of over 184 square miles divided into forty-nine municipalities is the oldest settled section of Pennsylvania.

Read more