Delaware County Heritage Commission Historic Preservation Awards

 Home / Departments / Planning Department / Planning Matters / Delaware County Heritage Commission Historic Preservation Awards

Delaware County Council and the Heritage Commission of Delaware County presented the 38th annual Preservation Awards on Wednesday, May 4th.

The 38th annual Preservation Awards took place Wednesday, May 4, 2016 and were hosted by Delaware County Council during its weekly meeting. 11 awards were presented in 7 categories: Site Preservation: Architectural Detail, Publication, Special Project, Preservation Planning, Youth, Individual Achievement, and the Leedom B. Morrison Award.

Historic Lansdowne Theater Corporation, Materials Conservation Co., and Mills + Schnoering Architects received an award for Site Preservation: Architectural Detail for the restoration of the 1927 Historic Lansdowne Theater’s outdoor lobby. Publication awards were given Phyllis Recca for her study of 43 historic sites in Chadds Ford, titled Chadds Ford: Then & Now, and to Robyn S. Young for her publication Women in Penn’s Woods: A History of Women in Pennsylvania. Aston Township Historical Society received the Special Project award for its updated Research Center. The Preservation Planning award went to the Rose Valley Centennial Foundation for its efforts to restore the 1904 Thunderbird Lodge, located in Rose Valley Borough.

Jenna Miele and John Lyons each received an award in the Youth category. Jenna created a 15-minute video that highlights Haverford Township Historical Society’s historic buildings and programs. John was recognized for his work in digitizing the archival collections at the 1696 Thomas Massey House in Marple Township. Three Individual Achievement awards were presented. Clarissa Dillon was awarded for her decades of work cultivating an historically accurate Colonial garden at the 1696 Thomas Massey House. Virginia Merion DeNenno was honored for the instrumental role she played in historic preservation activities in Concord Township. Patricia Theodore’s achievements as the President of the Colonial Pennsylvania Plantation Board of Directors earned her an Individual Achievement award. The Leedom B. Morrison award for an outstanding preservation project in the City of Chester was given to Debbie DeSimone and David Dececco of Best Homes DDJ for their restoration and conversion of the historic Weatherill School into an apartment building.

During the ceremony, members of County Council presented a resolution to recognize May as Preservation Month. The resolution calls upon the citizens of Delaware County to join in the celebration and help to preserve our valuable landmarks. May is National Preservation Month and this year’s theme is “This Place Matters”. The theme serves as a reminder to preserve and promote the historical resources that are most meaningful to our communities. The resolution was accepted by members of the Heritage Commission, including A. Richard Paul, Chairman, Mervyn Harris, Vice Chairman, Jane Carroll, Cyndi Charney, Barbara Marinelli, Elizabeth McCarrick, and Karen Micka.

The Heritage Commission seeks nominations for awards every winter. Questions about the Heritage Commission? Contact the Planning Department at 610-891-5200 or

Contact Us

About Delaware County

Delaware County, presently consisting of over 184 square miles divided into forty-nine municipalities is the oldest settled section of Pennsylvania.

Read more