

Heritage Commission of Delaware County Annual Preservation Awards, held May 4, 2025



Award winners, nominators and guests



Councilmember Elaine Paul Schaefer gave remarks on behalf of County Council



Audience members



Councilmember Elaine Paul Schaefer presents a Resolution announcing May as Preservation Month



Heritage Commission members Twyla Simpkins, Karen Micka (Vice Chair), Beth McCarrick (Secretary), Emma Leuschner, Kate Clifford (DCPD Liaison), Sam Pickard (Chair), and Councilmember Elaine Paul Schaefer with Resolution



Heritage Commission Chair Samuel A. Pickard presented all of the awards



St. Joseph Place- Suzanne O'Grady Laurito & Heather Huot from Catholic Housing and Community Services with Patrick Gallagher of Collingdale Historical Society



Newlin Grist Mill-Tony Shahan (Executive Director), Eva Mergen, Keith Doms, Richard Frunzi



A Day Spent Around Concord- Emma Leuschner



Philadelphia: A Narrative History- Dr. Paul Kahan



Pennell Mantels- Middletown Township Historical Society members Mary Anne Eves (Vice President) and Susan Mescanti (President)



Viscose Memorial Sign- Bruce Dorbian (Marcus Hook Borough)



Media Fellowship House- Jon Flynn (MFH), George Rothacker (artist), Emmanuel Fitzpatrick (artist), Amy Komarnicki (MFH), Stephanie Untz (artist)



Ridley Park Historical Society- Hank Eberle (Ridley Park Mayor), RPHS members Ellie Hays (President) and Trish Holtzinger (Vice President)



Upper Chichester Historic Sites Survey- Cyndi Charney (Chichester Historical Society), Brian Seidel (Seidel Planning), Kate Clifford (Delaware County Planning Department)



Spring Valley AME Church Diversity Learning Library- Virginia Hayes



Chester Black History Tour- Stefan Roots (Chester City Mayor), Adina Shane (Swarthmore College), Twyla Simpkins (YES Center)



Lafayette in Chester- Stefan Roots (Chester City Mayor), Frederick Magner (as George Washington), Carol Fireng (Chester Historic Preservation Committee), Kate Clifford (Delaware County Planning Department)



Concord's USCT Heroes- Pam Cawood Rizzo



Rockdale Parade- Lori Kelso, Larry Curry, Bernie Montecchio, Cadance Kelso, Veronica Batter, Kelly Arthur, Pat Smith, Dave Kelso



300th Anniversary of 1724 Chester Courthouse- Stefan Roots (Chester City Mayor), Carol Fireng (Chester Historic Preservation Committee), Kate Clifford (Delaware County Planning Department), Michael Emery (PHMC)



Lifetime Achievement- Clarissa Dillon



Congratulations to all award winners!