

The officiant performing the marriage ceremony must file the Duplicate Certificate at the Delaware County Marriage License office within 10 days of the date of the ceremony. If the Duplicate Certificate is not returned, your file remains incomplete, and a \$50 fine may be assessed



Vincent A. Rongione, Esquire Register of Wills & Orphans' Court

We are on Facebook!

www.facebook.com/delcoparow



GETTING MARRIED FAQ

Vincent A. Rongione, Esquire Delaware County Register of Wills and Clerk of Orphans' Court



Government Center Building 201 W. Front Street Media, PA 19063 (610) 891-4400

RegOfWills@co.delaware.pa.us



# WHAT DO I NEED TO DO TO OBTAIN A MARRIAGE LICENSE?

Couples can start the Marriage License application anywhere they have internet access at: <a href="www.delcopa.gov/row/marriage.html">www.delcopa.gov/row/marriage.html</a>. In addition to submitting the online application, such as a driver's license or passport <a href="must">must</a> be shown. Payment is acceptable by check, credit card (convenience fee may apply), or money order (\$60.00). The physical office is located at the Government Center Building, which is connected to the Delaware County Courthouse, 201 West Front Street, Media PA. 19063.



## WHEN SHOULD WE APPLY FOR A LICENSE AND HOW LONG IS IT VALID?

We recommend that you apply for your license at least three weeks prior to your wedding. Pennsylvania law requires a three (3) day waiting period between the date you may marry. After the three-day waiting period, a marriage license is valid for 60 days. If the Couple is not married within the 60-day period, the application must be completed again in its entirety to obtain a new license. The three-day period may be waived in exceptional circumstances, such as military service requirements.



## WHERE CAN THE MARRIAGE LICENSE BE USED?

A marriage License issued in Delaware County may be used anywhere in Pennsylvania.



#### WHAT ABOUT PRIOR MARRIAGES?

Applicant who have been previously married and divorced must provide an <u>original certified</u> <u>copy of the divorce decree</u>. If the most recent marriage was dissolved by death, a widow or widower must provide an original or a copy of a death certificate when applying. A Marriage License will not be issued if you do not have these items with you at the time of application.



#### WHAT IF I'M NOT FLUENT IN ENGLISH?

If one or both applicants does not understand English, an independent (third-party) interpreter can be provided at no cost to you. Please contact our office if you need additional information. If you were married before, and if your death certificate, certified divorce decree, or other essential documents are not in English, it is necessary that they be translated along with a notarized affidavit of the translator. If you need assistance with a translation, please advise this office before you apply for your Marriage License.



#### WHO MAY NOT MARRY?

Pennsylvania law prohibits the marriage of persons related by blood up to and including first cousins as well as those under 18 years of age.