Firearm Licenses

 Home / Departments / Sheriff's Office / Firearm Licenses

IMPORTANT NOTICE

For both a new license, and renewal of a current license to carry firearms you may walk-in Monday through Friday between 9 a.m. and 3:30 p.m. Requires two visits: Application and pick-up.

For a five dollar convenience fee you may now apply on line. See online application. You will still need to make an appointment through that process. Requires only one visit: Photo, signature and issuance.

Once application is made the office has up to 45 days to issue, or deny a permit.

When you receive your approval letter in the mail, you may come in to pick-up of your license M-F between 9 a.m. and 4:15 p.m. If you applied online, follow that process.

Due to the current high demand for licenses to carry firearms and the COVID restrictions we appreciate everyone’s patience.

IDENTIFICATION REQUIRED: A valid photo driver’s license or photo identification card (not expired or suspended) issued by the Pennsylvania Department of Motor vehicles (PennDOT) or any other government issued ID that is not expired and contains the following: photograph of the applicant, name, residence address, date of birth and signature.


RE: INFORMATION FOR MEDICAL MARIJUANA CARDHOLDERS

It is legal under Pennsylvania law for the holder of a validly issued patient Medical Marijuana Card to possess approved forms of medical marijuana. However, as per the United States Department of Justice, Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (BATFE), the possession of medical marijuana remains a violation of federal law, and possession of a valid Medical Marijuana Card and/or the use of medical marijuana makes you an “unlawful user of or addicted to any controlled substance” who is prohibited by federal law from the purchase or acquisition, possession, or control of a firearm pursuant to 18 U.S.C. § 922(g)(3), and 27 C.F.R. § 478.32(a)(3).

The BATFE’s position is set forth in its September 21, 2011, Open Letter to all Federal Firearms Licensees, which states in part that “[t]herefore, any person who uses or is addicted to marijuana, regardless of whether his or her State has passed legislation authorizing marijuana use for medicinal purposes, is an unlawful user of or addicted to a controlled substance, and is prohibited by Federal law from possessing firearms or ammunition.” Likewise, the mere possession of a Medical Marijuana Card will give rise to an inference that you are an “unlawful user of or addicted to” a controlled substance, pursuant to 27 C.F.R. § 478.11.

Therefore, it is also unlawful for you to apply for, possess or renew a Pennsylvania License to Carry Firearm (LTC), because you are “[a]n individual who is prohibited from possessing or acquiring a firearm under the statutes of the United States.” (Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes Chapter 18, Section 6109(e)(1)(xiv).

Open Letter to All Federal Firearms Licensees


Gun Permits / Concealed Weapons Applications

The Delaware County Sheriff's office issues Firearms licenses. The Sheriff's Office has 45 days to conduct an investigation to determine an individual's eligibility to be issued a license.

The applicant shall be required to produce a valid government issued photo identification and sufficient proof of residency, as required. Address on application and on ID MUST MATCH. A background investigation is a required; to include but not limited to criminal history, mental health and residency on each applicant to determine eligibility.

In accordance with 18 PA C.S. Sec. 6109, a Sheriff may deny an individual the right to a license to carry concealed firearms for several reasons. If denied, you will be notified in writing. If approved, the applicant will be notified in writing and the Sheriff shall issue a license to carry concealed firearms. The license MUST be picked up IN PERSON.

The issuance of a license to carry concealed firearms allows the licensee to carry a firearm concealed on or about their person, or in a vehicle throughout this Commonwealth.

See the Pennsylvania Attorney General's Website for current reciprocity agreements https://www.attorneygeneral.gov/resources/concealed-carry-reciprocity/

The license is valid for five (5) years, unless revoked sooner.


Online Gun Permit Application

Gun Permit Application

Application Instructions

Application for Duplicate License to Carry

Application to Sell Firearms

* Must have the free Acrobat Reader to download.

Do Not Mail in the Permit, you must come to the Sheriff's Office!

The Sheriff's Office is on the ground floor immediately to the right of the main entrance.



Contact Us

  •   201 West Front Street,
         Media, PA 19063
  •   8:30AM - 4:30PM
           Monday - Friday
  •   610-891-4000
  • webmaster@co.delaware.pa.us

About Delaware County

Delaware County, presently consisting of over 184 square miles divided into forty-nine municipalities is the oldest settled section of Pennsylvania.


Read more