Real Estate Department - Sheriff Sales

 Home / Departments / Sheriff's Office / Real Estate Department - Sheriff Sales

As of March 2024, we have reverted back to the previous system.

List of Properties for Current Month

List of Properties Continued from Prior Months

Other Property Sale Information (See Treasurer Office)

Conditions of Sale

Sheriff's Sale Dates and Deadlines

Sheriff’s Sale Disclaimer: The list shown is for the date listed at the top of the form. Changes in the status of each property may occur during the month after the list is posted. For updated information call the Real Estate Department at 610-891-4305 or email the Real Estate Department at

Frequently Asked Questions

When do the Sheriff's Sales take place?

Sales take place on the third Friday of each Month at 11:00 A.M. If the third Friday is a holiday, the sale will be held on Thursday.

Where are the Sheriff's Sales held?

Sales are held in the County Council Meeting Room on the first floor of the Government Center Building , Delaware County Court House, Front St. & Veterans Square, Media, PA.

Can I obtain a list of the properties to be sold?

Yes. For each property to be sold there is a handbill posted in the Sheriff's Office at the Delaware County Court House and an advertisement in the local newspaper where the property is situated and will appear once a week for the three weeks before the sale. The list can be found on under Real Estate (Sheriff Sale). Copies of the list may be purchased for $5.00 day of the sale.

If I see a property I want to buy, can I inspect it before the sale?

No, the properties are not available for inspection.

How do I buy a property at Sheriff's Sale?

You need to attend the sale at the date and time advertised. The sale is a public auction and you will have to bid for the property.

What is hand money?

Hand money is the deposit you have to pay in cash, or by certified check at the time of the sale.

When do I have to pay the rest of the money?

The balance of your bid is payable within ten calendar days to the Sheriff in cash or by certified check. If you do not pay the balance of your bid, you lose your hand money and the property.

Why does the Sheriff's Office highly recommend that you consult your own attorney for advice about how to purchase property at Sheriff's Sale?

One example: you may buy a property with numerous liens requiring you to pay a lot more money than what you bid for the property that you must under the law pay to the lien holders to clear what is now YOUR Title/property.

Do Sheriff's Sales differ from Tax Sales or Judicial Sales?

Yes, there are significant differences. For information about Tax Sales or Judicial Sales, contact the Delaware County Tax Claim Bureau in the Government Center Building at the Courthouse in Media or call 610-891-4281.

Contact Us

  •   201 West Front Street,
         Media, PA 19063
  •   8:30AM - 4:30PM
           Monday - Friday
  •   610-891-4000

About Delaware County

Delaware County, presently consisting of over 184 square miles divided into forty-nine municipalities is the oldest settled section of Pennsylvania.

Read more